Watford: Meat and Shake

ms_watford3517

I absolutely LOVE this place. The food is INCREDIBLE and the atmosphere is made to match. In general, I am not a huge fan of meat or chicken. I tend to prefer vegetarian food, which partially stems from my cautiousness of whether a place is actually halal or not. But an insanely delicious meal at Meat and Shake blew me away.

Set in the heart of Watford just outside the Intu shopping centre, Meat and Shake appears as an unassuming little restaurant slightly hidden out of view. Step inside and you’re transported to the Wild West. A wooden feel transcends across the joint, making it feel like you’re about to experience an authentic barbeque rather than something unoriginal from a branded chain. The staff give friendly smiles and are quick to provide advice if you’re unsure on what to try.

Sitting aside in a little booth, my eyes glance over the brilliant menu. Whoever wrote it did a great job. The burgers are fantastically named – Plain Jane, Truffle Shuffle, Buttermilk Chipotle. And reading the descriptions is as though you can actually taste a meal before it arrives. This time I go for the Ruby Murray burger – Curried Chicken, Tomato, Leaves, Red Onion, Fresh Coriander, Chilli, Yoghurt with House Seasoned Skin on Fries.

The meal arrives presented on a wooden platter with the fries strategically placed in a little metal canister. Cutting the burger in half, I take one bite and the flavours rush to tantalise my taste buds. The not so spicy curried chicken combined with the fresh coriander and yoghurt is exemplary. And the fries are the best I have had in a long time, well-seasoned and crispy on the outside with soft hot potato waiting inside.

Scooping up every last flavour of the meal, I sit back with a content smile on my face. I’m not overfull or tired, but satisfied. It was so good, I could order another one.

I highly recommend trying this place out. With branches in Tooting, Ealing and Watford, there’s treble the opportunity for enjoyment. I for sure will be back.

Rating: 1 Poor / 2 Average / 3 Good / 4 Very Good / 5 Excellent

All the details you need

  • Address: 127 High St, Watford, Hertfordshire, WD17 2TQ
  • Website: http://meatandshake.com/
  • Opening Hours: Mon-Wed 12:00-22:00, Thurs-Sat 12:00-22:30, Sun 12:00-22:00
  • Is it Halal? Yes

Miss Britistani

ms_watford5620

Leave a Reply

